A Modified Sorbetto 

So I’ve got another Sorbetto made. I originally lengthened this pattern by about 3 inches already but I modified it a little more this time by taking out the curve at the waistline and just made a straight seam all the way down that flared out a bit at the bottom.  Also  I made the back neckline a little higher and took out the pleat down the middle.  I also chose to widen the high bust area a bit because my first sorbetto was just a little bit too tight there.

To do that I drew a vertical line that ran parallel to the fold line from the middle shoulder seam down, then a horizontal line perpendicular to that line a little below the arm hole at the side seam.  I cut out the L shape and brought it over 1/2 an inch.  I re-drew my shoulder seams and re-drew the side seams without the curve at the waistline, making it a little wider.  I did this for both the front and back pieces and for the front piece I cut out the dart and moved it over to meet up with the new seam.

I found that I really liked the results of doing this.  Widening the high bust area this way worked great because it didn’t mess with the dart at all.  That is the one thing I don’t like about doing a small bust adjustment.  It always makes the dart so small.  I think I am going to try this method again in the future for other tops or bodices.

I know I am going to get a lot of use out of this top.  Its a great tank for summer and I love the print.  It feels so much more comfortable than my other Sorbetto because its nice and roomy.

Pattern:  Sorbetto by Colette Patterns

Fabric:  a silk-like polyester fabric from Joann

Changes:  Lengthened by 3 inches, widened the high bust area, took the curve out of the waistline, took out the middle pleat, and made the back neckline higher.

 

 

Leave a Reply

