Jeans to Shorts Refashion

I was looking at the cost of shorts online the other day and they cost almost the same amount as jeans and yet they have much less fabric.  I thought this was just crazy and one of those things in life I will never quite understand.

So instead of spending my money on a new pair of shorts I decided to save my money and turn an old pair of jeans into denim shorts.jeans to denim shorts refashion before and afterWhat a difference huh?! I love how they turned out!

I basically made these the same way that I did the capris to shorts refashion a while back.  This time I wanted the shorts to be longer so I made sure the final in-seam was at 5 inches.

jeans to denim shorts refashion jeans to denim shorts refashion

I wasn’t sure originally if I would include these in my summer wardrobe.  I thought I would make them for going to the beach or something like that.  Now, I think I am going to include them in my summer wardrobe because I think I would actually get a lot of use out of these.  So you just may be seeing these soon.

Who knows, if the weather is terribly hot when we get back to Florida, I may update my spring wardrobe with these guys.

I actually think that I am going to be changing out many items in my current spring capsule once I get back to Florida, so I definitely will be doing an updated post to share that with you all.

What I love the most about these shorts is the length.  They are very long and I feel so comfortable in them.  However, if I want to make them a little shorter I can easily do that by rolling them up.

So here are the shorts at their full length:

jeans to denim shorts refashion

And here is how they look rolled up once:jeans to denim shorts refashion

And here they are rolled up twice:
jeans to denim shorts refashion

I am super excited to have these shorts and that I was able to repurpose an old pair of jeans.  I love how learning to sew is giving me the opportunity to create a wardrobe I love but also save money and repurpose old things.

Have you ever repurposed old jeans to shorts?

6 thoughts on “Jeans to Shorts Refashion

  1. anglovestu says:

    I love your shorts! I refashioned a pair of jeans the same length last summer and I wear them all the time. They fit like your favorite jeans, but they’re perfect for Florida’s everyday weather. I’m glad I’m not the only one who does this!

    Like

    • samantha says:

      Thanks. Yeah it definitely doesn’t have that loose fit. Maybe you could buy a pair of jeans from a thrift store that fits well around the waist and hips but has that wider looser fit in the legs and turn them into shorts. I’ve seen others do this and some even distress them which looks really cool too.

      Like

  2. Stephanie says:

    I think I’m going to have to try this. Since moving to Florida myself, I haven’t needed as many pairs of pants. I’m sure the weather will be nice and warm when you get here. It’s been in the 80s a lot already although not terribly humid yet.

    Like

    • samantha says:

      Oh I hope the humidity can hold off for a little bit more. My parents have been telling me the weather has been strange and oddly a little cool for this time of year. But I keep thinking that by the time we get back we won’t be able to experience any of it, that it will just be hot…I guess we will see…but yeah you should do this refashion if you’re thinking about it. It’s so easy and great for Florida weather.

      Like

Leave a Reply

