Minimalism

minimalismWhat is minimalism?

Some people may think of minimalism and picture a sparse house with a very modern white and black decor or a wardrobe full of monochrome clothes. Sure, this would describe minimalism in design, but we are not talking about design. We are talking about a lifestyle. What is a minimalist lifestyle?

My answer is: It will differ between each person.

We all have different lives, different values. What minimalism is to one person may look very different to another.

Some minimalist count all their items, others may count only certain items like their wardrobe (that’s me!), and still others may count none of their items. Some minimalist rid their houses of TV’s, Internet, and other modern technology; others may simply limit their use of these things. Some move into tiny homes, while others just downsize.

You see what I’m getting at? Minimalism is a lifestyle that depends on each individual, their circumstances in life, and where they are currently at on this journey. But to me, what it really comes down to is, minimalism is about eliminating what doesn’t add value to your life.minimalism It’s not about following a specific set of rules; keep this don’t keep that. No, it’s about deciding the life you want to live, and then eliminating what doesn’t fit in with that life.

Minimalism is a journey, not a destination. I don’t think we ever get to a point where we say, “Ah ha! I am finally here! I am a perfect minimalist!” Our lives are every changing. There are things that are constantly coming in and out of our lives that we have to evaluate and decide, does this add value to my life?

For me, I value having quality time with my family, getting outdoors and enjoying nature. I value reading and educating myself, sewing my own wardrobe, and eating a diet that consists of real food. I value a clutter-free clean home, having less stress, and not being in debt or a slave to my job.

Trust me I am still working on getting my life in line with my values. It’s a work in progress. So I am constantly searching for what I can eliminate from my life that doesn’t add to, or may even take away from, what I truly value; whether it be physical things or even habits.

And that is what minimalism means to me.  What does minimalism mean to you?

4 thoughts on “Minimalism

  1. LaDulsaTina says:

    I totally agree with you! “Minimalism is about eliminating what doesn’t add value to your life” I’ve realised this thing quite late, but, as you, I’m feeling in your journey on the lookout for something to eliminate that doesn’t add value to my life…and it’s not simple! I started with TV 😉 No TV in my house and a lot of free time for sewing, reading, having time with my boyfriend and so on 🙂

    Like

    • samantha says:

      This great to hear! Yeah we haven’t owned a TV in about 3 years and before that we got rid of cable for some time…it was the best decision we could make, because it frees up more time to do what we love. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  2. Mariangeles says:

    Well said!
    Even though I don’t consider myself a minimalist. They are things we decided not to get or to eliminate from our lives. For example, only one TV in our house, no cable, no tablets. Even though we can afford all these. More substantial reading. Daily bible reading. Eating mostly organic and non gmo foods. Those are some of our values. Things are a priority to us and contribute to our happiness.

    Like

    • samantha says:

      That’s awesome! I think that’s great. That’s exactly the kind of stuff I’m talking about. Taking away what doesn’t make you happy and adding what does. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

