An Un-Accomplished Day

Do you ever have those days where you can’t seem to accomplish one thing you originally set out to? That is the kind of day I’ve had.

I’ve stared at my computer screen trying to write a meaningful blog post, but couldn’t find the words.  I’ve started a sewing project and then quickly abandoned it.  I’ve done loads of laundry, but haven’t folded any of it.

Before I knew it, the day had flown by and without anything to really show for it and I felt really, REALLY frustrated.

But you know, maybe instead of giving ourselves a hard time when we have days like these, maybe we need to just take a step back and not expect so much from ourselves.

I feel that if I am going to do something, it doesn’t have to be perfect, but it does need to be my best, otherwise I will end up redoing it anyway.

So instead of trying to force something of low-quality out,  I decided to do something that was a no brainer;  I  made a pumpkin pie.pumpkin pieAnd that’s it!  That’s pretty much the only thing I completely finished  today.

Maybe sometimes we just need to say,

“Today is not the day. These things that I want to accomplish or create will just have to wait for another day when I can give them my best.”

And then we need to just focus on a task that we can give our best to at that moment.  For me, today, that was making pumpkin pie.

Because at the end of the day, we may not have accomplished all that we were hoping to. We may not have written that meaningful blog post or made a good dent on our next sewing project, but we did make a tasty pumpkin pie!

So what about you? Do you have days like this too? What do you find works best?

Leave a Reply

