Wardrobe Architect: Summer Wardrobe Planning

For March with the Wardrobe Architect Challenge we had to find the holes in our wardrobe and plan the projects we would be making or what we will be purchasing based on that.  And boy have I really had to change gears here!

I originally was planning a fall/winter wardrobe which would have been suited for life here in the mountains of Ecuador, but since we are now moving to Florida in the summer I am now planning a summer wardrobe so I can be prepared when we move back.

So I have tried my best, in this short amount of time, to come up with a capsule wardrobe that I think would be great for this summer so I can finally get started on some projects.

After coming up with an idea of a summer capsule wardrobe, I went through my clothes and figured out what I already owned that could be used.  Then I made visual lists in polyvore of what I needed to refashion, make, or purchase.

So here is what I came up with:

Wardrobe Planning: Summer 2015 Sewing Projects

 

 

Wardrobe Planning: Summer 2015 Purchase Items

 

This breaks down to:
  • 7  *Refashion or size-down projects with items I already own.  (Two have been completed.)
  • 8  Complete from scratch sewing projects.
  • 6  Items to purchase.

*When we were in Florida for a visit, I went thrifting and found a few items that I liked but were way too big and need to be sized down.

Of the complete from scratch projects I have lined up I will be using these patterns:

  • Moneta dress by Colette Patterns.
  • Zinnia skirt by Colette Patterns.
  • Mimi blouse from “Love at First Stitch.”
  • Lilou dress from “Love at First Stitch.” (maybe)
  • My own designs for 2 skirts.  (A box pleat skirt and a wrap knit midi skirt.)

I honestly don’t know how much I am going to be able to accomplish but this will at least give me a guideline to follow.

What I love about this Wardrobe Architect Challenge is that it is giving me a clear direction for my wardrobe.  Instead of being distracted by cool patterns and cute fabric that really aren’t me; I am carefully choosing my projects for a specific end goal.  This is great because it is helping me stay focused, not over-consume, and keep things simple.

This is exactly how I want to sew forever; with a purpose.  So that I can get the most use out of the garments that I spend so much time working on to create.

So that’s the plan!  I’ve already completed two projects off my sewing list which I will be posting about on Friday!

2 thoughts on “Wardrobe Architect: Summer Wardrobe Planning

    • samantha says:

      Thanks. I hope these size down projects go well for me because if so I might be doing this as a regular thing for my wardrobe because it does save so much money this way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

