Planning A Capsule Wardrobe

planning a capsule wardrobeFor the longest time now I have been wanting to do a capsule wardrobe.  I have been inspired by Project333, Un-fancy, and The Daily Connoisseur but I have not had the courage to actually go through with it…until now.

Participating in the Wardrobe Architect Challenge and clearing out my closet have been the two major driving forces to help me finally commit.

But I’m not going to lie, I was having a lot of difficulty figuring out exactly how I was going to do this.  It seems that many have different guidelines for their capsule wardrobes.  Some count all their items, while others only count certain items and others are considered extras, like accessories.  Then the actual amount differs: 33…37…10…

Since we all have different lives, it makes sense to have guidelines that are personalized to meet your specific lifestyle needs, but the question was, “What would work best for me?”

So I spent a lot of time on Polyvore putting together a sample capsule wardrobe and also listing out the amount of items in each category of clothing that I thought I would need.  I did this considering different seasons and different types of weather and I continued to come up with numbers between 33-40.

Now, the last thing I want to do is get myself stressed out trying to fixate on one number.  So I decided to settle with the round about number of 37 and if I end up for a particular season with 3 more or 3 less, or even 5 more or 5 less, well I’m not going to worry about it.

After all, this isn’t about self deprivation or getting obsessed with a set number, it’s about finally getting control and simplifying.

capsule wardrobe planning

So here is the final plan:

Capsule Wardrobe Guidelines:

  1. Choose 37 Core Items (give or take):  This includes tops, bottoms, dresses, shoes, and outerwear.
  2. Choose a few Extras:  Choose a couple of bags, a few scarves, a pair of sunglasses, and any other accessories that are needed that pair well with the core items.
  3. Plan by seasons:  Plan each wardrobe by seasons: Winter, Spring, Summer, & Fall…OR Spring/Summer & Fall/Winter.
  4. Assess & plan:  Assess how the current capsule is working for you and adjust as needed.  Plan the next capsule wardrobe prior to the following season and aquire the missing pieces.

I can see that I have some major gaps to fill with what I already own compared to my ideal capsule wardrobe.  But I will create a capsule wardrobe with my existing clothes and as I make the items that I am missing I will add/replace them with my current wardrobe.

Now that I have a plan, I’m ready to finally get started!

But now I really want to hear from you.  Are you contemplating doing a capsule wardrobe?  What are your struggles?

Leave a Reply

