A Chambray Clemence Skirt


A Chambray Clemence SkirtA Chambray Clemence SkirtA Chambray Clemence SkirtA Chambray Clemence SkirtA Chambray Clemence SkirtAlright guys, this is going to be a quick post.  My Clemence skirt from Love At First Stitch is done!  I really wanted this skirt in a nice blue chambray and I am so glad I found the fabric for it.  I am very pleased with how it turned out.

This is seriously a great style for me.  I love full gathered skirts.  They are easy to make and are very flattering.  I will definitely be making more of these.

This was my first time making french seams and I have to say I love them!  They add such a professional look to the inside of the garment.  Plus, they are super durable making the garment last longer.  I think this is going to be my preferred method for seam finishing when possible until I get a serger.
French seams

Look at that! as beautiful on the inside as on the outside.  I love french seams!

SPECIFICATIONS

Fabric:  Chambray

Pattern:

  • I followed the instructions for making the Clemence skirt in Love At First Stitch.
  • I originally made my waistband a bit too big so I adjusted that when installing the zipper.
  • I used french seams for the side seams.
  • I tapered in just a bit at the top of the waistband to make it more snug

In the future I am going to try to make the waistband a bit smaller and more snug fitting, but other than that I wouldn’t change anything else.  This is a great staple skirt and it is going to make a great addition to my capsule wardrobe!

A Chambray Clemence SkirtAnd P.S. if you are reading this, I just want you to know that I recently updated my sets in Polyvore for my silhouettes, and I went ahead and updated that older blog post to reflect that.  The overall look of the silhouettes is still the same its just that I had been searching around Polyvore more recently and have found garments that better reflect those silhouettes to me, and the perfectionist in me just had to update them.

I know I’m crazy!  But that seriously is the way I am.  If something is bugging me and on my mind, I have to fix it or it will just continue to bother me.

5 thoughts on “A Chambray Clemence Skirt

  1. Jenifer Farrell says:

    Your skirt turned out great ! You might check out grainline’s blog post about “how to french seam anything” – I learned a lot there and now use it for practically all my seams. I especially love using it on setting sleeves!

    Like

Leave a Reply

