Wardrobe Architect: My Patterns and Designs

my patterns and designsJanuary is almost up and so I thought today I would share with you all my progress in choosing patterns and designs for this coming season as part of the Wardrobe Architect Challenge.

But can I just say first how much I have loved doing this whole process!  More and more lately I have been wanting to simplify my life and this includes my wardrobe.  I don’t want to buy and make things that I am not going to get a lot of use out of and I definitely do not want to have an overstuffed wardrobe  full of clothes I don’t love ever again.  I’m just done with that!  So really spending some time thinking about my wardrobe and really planning it out has been such a rewarding process for me.

I have been realizing that I don’t really like very much of my clothes and I am really excited to start making some things that I will love.  I am also looking forward to going through my closet once and for all and finally letting go of some of the items that just don’t do anything for me anymore but that for some reason I have still been hanging onto.

My only concern is that the perfectionist in me is still not going to be happy with some of the things I make as they will be less than perfect because I am still learning to sew and I’m not that experienced yet.  But I suppose there is no need to worry about those things.  At least I will be gaining experience this year with this journey and hopefully one day I will have the confidence and skill to finally produce high quality garments.

So I actually collected a whole bunch of ideas of things to make. There is no way I am making all of these, I know that. I have no idea really how many I will actually be able to make.  Probably not that much, but this has given me some specific direction of patterns and designs that I can refer to so that I don’t get distracted.

I think I did a pretty good job at choosing patterns/designs that really fit into my core style. I have spent a lot of time reflecting on what my core style is and the silhouettes that I love the most, which helped me when it came down to choosing which patterns and designs I would make.

I made a little inspiration set in polyvore of some pieces that are not exactly what I want, but are a good reference for colors, shapes and ideas.

F/W wardrobe planning

 

Then for my actual designs and patterns, I decided to draw those out to keep in my notebook, as a reference of all the patterns I would like to use or design myself. wardrobe patterns and designsThis is good for me because I have a bunch of things saved as bookmarks on my computer of patterns and tutorials, how to’s and what not, and it is too easy for me to forget about what I have. But with the patterns/designs all drawn out and in one spot I can see very clearly what I want to make, and stick with those for this coming season.

It also really helped me to see all the possibilities that I have as I also drew out the different variations of even one pattern that I would like to make.  And that really helped me to see clearly that I don’t really need to purchase a bunch of patterns.  (At least not right now.)  wardrobe patterns and designsI can make do with a lot that I already own and free patterns I have found on the internet.  Also, I can attempt to make some patterns myself from existing garments I already own. I don’t know how well that last option is going to work out, but it is something that I really want to try.

So here is the list of what I have come up with and their links in case it interests you.

Skirts:

Dresses:

Tops:

Bottoms

  • Shorts designed by me using existing shorts I own or I might try this free pattern by Plan B Anna Evers
  • I would love to make the Ginger Jeans by Closet Case patterns, but I don’t think that is going to happen this year.  However I really want a pair of burgundy skinny pants so I may look into dying a pair of pants that I own that I never wear.

As you can see that is a pretty big list and when you consider all the different variations with even one pattern, there are tons of possibilities with these.  I know I will not be able to make all of these, but these are going to be the go-to patterns/designs for my upcoming wardrobe and I will just make what I can.

Also, you can see that I am interested in making some patterns myself using existing clothing I own or using tutorials on-line.  I don’t know how well that will turn out for me, but I think it would be fun to explore and see if it is something that I can do.  I love this idea as it will save me money from having to by patterns all the time.  It should also help me to become a better seamstress.

So we shall see how it goes, but if it doesn’t go well, or I just end up deciding to buy some patterns, here are some others that I’m interested in:

There is a whole list of other patterns that I love but I don’t think I will be purchasing or making anytime soon.

Well there you have it.  These are my patterns and designs that I will be using for my handmade wardrobe.  It was a lot of work and research for me but I think it will be well worth it in the end.

So what about you?  If you are doing this have you come up with your patterns and designs?

4 thoughts on “Wardrobe Architect: My Patterns and Designs

  1. Britney says:

    Wow! Love the list. I didn’t realize there were so many free patterns?! And I have love at first stitch, so I’m excited to try all those out! I’m excited to see what you make 🙂 I need to finish my silhouettes and pick patterns…and post about them too! Yikes better get going.

    Like

    • samantha says:

      Thanks. Yeah I love that there are quite a few free patterns out there plus tons of different tutorials. It’s especially nice for a newbie like me. That way it wasn’t as much of an investment if it doesn’t work out too well. Looking forward to what you come up with!

      Liked by 1 person

    • samantha says:

      Thanks. I know! I really love Polyvore. Also I was quite surprised to find so many free patterns out there that I like and seem to fit into my style. I actually found another resource that has free patterns and I might incorporate a few of those also. I will be posting about it in my next post today so stay tuned. Also, I’m looking forward to your progress. Thanks for your inspiration!

      Like

Leave a Reply

