The Wardrobe Architect 2015 Challenge

wardrobe-architect-2015Colette Patterns has initiated the Wardrobe Architect 2015 Challenge on their blog and seeing how I recently discussed my goal with sewing, that is; to build a handmade, capsule wardrobe, I thought it would be fitting to accept this challenge.

It is basically a challenge to help you carefully plan and design your own handmade wardrobe throughout the year.

Pairing down and simplifying to a capsule size wardrobe definitely requires more thought and careful planning into each item you have, making sure that it is something that fits into your lifestyle and also best represents who you are, so this concept of planning and designing your handmade wardrobe definitely makes sense to me.

I just discussed in my last post how much I want to get away from fast-fashion and over-consuming trendy clothing, and instead, develop my true style and ultimately have a handmade, capsule wardrobe. So, with that in mind, this challenge really spoke out to me.

I think it will be a great way for me to get focused on this endeavor and stay inspired. I believe that it could be a great learning experience and I feel it is just the thing I need to help me along. It is a little scary, (it’s always difficult for me to commit to anything), but I feel that if I do this, whether I succeed or fail at it, I will learn so much.

So, I am just going to take a quick moment to outline what my personal plans and goals are regarding this challenge.

  • First, I too want to accept the challenge of not buying anything new this year; everything must be either handmade or purchased secondhand.  This will not be too much of a difficulty I feel, as I don’t really shop while I am here in Ecuador, however, we are planning to visit the States sometime this year, and when we go back we normally do some shopping and wardrobe updating. So this year when we do visit back, I will have to limit it to only secondhand shopping. The only exceptions for me would be undergarments (if needing replaced) shoes (if needing to replace or update) or accessories such is jewelry or a handbag, but as far as my everyday clothing is concerned, that I will not be purchasing new.
  • Second, I do not want to feel the need to up haul my entire wardrobe in one year. I may not be able to make as many things as that would require. However, I want to focus on some capsule wardrobe basics for each season, creating a variety of things; tops, bottoms, and dresses but just a handful total, if that is all I can accomplish, and really focusing on filling in gaps in my wardrobe. I will still be wearing clothes I already own, but my goal with this is just to really work on developing my style and learning how to create clothing that is fitting to my lifestyle and that I love and will wear all the time.
  • Third, I will update my progress and planning on the blog. This will be my way of keeping track of my progress and sharing what I learn along the way. It will hopefully keep me motivated and help me stay on track with everything.

Also, remember, as I live in the southern hemisphere of the world, my seasons will be flip flopped, so I will be working on the opposite season as the northern hemisphere, but I feel that is important as I need to plan for the climate here at the time. However, there really isn’t much of a drastic change of season here, meaning it never gets really super hot or drastically cold, so maybe it wont make too much of a difference.

So what do you all think? Are you feeling like you need to really do some major changing with your wardrobe? If you feel like me, maybe you should check this challenge out!

I am looking forward to this challenge. I am looking forward to what this will inspire in me and what I will ultimately learn and gain from this experience in a year. I can’t wait to get started!

6 thoughts on “The Wardrobe Architect 2015 Challenge

  1. Genevievelace says:

    I’ve got to look this up, it sounds like something I should do! I’ve already cleared out about 1/4 of my clothes (though if you saw my closet you wouldn’t think so!) and the only things I love in my wardrobe are the handful of pieces I’ve already made myself. Amatuer seamstresses unite!

    Like

    • samantha says:

      Yes! You totally should do this. It seems like something you would really enjoy. I love that the things you love in your closet are the things you have made. See, you are already on your way!

      Like

  2. Martina C. (LaDulsaTina) says:

    I don’t know if I have enough time to take part in that interesting experiment, but it seems really useful. I should give it a try…why not?! Probably can help me to find a style for my wardrobe! Tonight I’m gonna have a look and I’ll let you know…

    Like

    • samantha says:

      It’s a really cool concept and I think that even if you don’t “participate” you can definitely gain something from the principles. I am really learning how to focus in on my core style and I think that will help me with sewing garments that I will get a lot of use out of in the future.

      Like

Leave a Reply

