My Delphine Skirt

My Delphine skirtI had a really awful sinus infection this past week.  It felt as though my head was going to explode.  Needless to say, I didn’t feel much like posting.  I mostly stayed in bed, but I did get to do a little crochet which I will be posting about at a later time.  Finally, yesterday, I felt better.  The pain was gone and I could finally focus, so I worked extra hard and got the sewing project that I had been working on done.

It is the Delphine skirt from “Love At First Stitch.”

I made this skirt with a piece of fabric that I got from the discount fabric bin in a local store, and let me tell you, I used every inch of that fabric for this project. I don’t know the exact amount I had but I know it was less than the recommended 1 yard for this skirt.  So this skirt really doesn’t need a lot of fabric at all.
I don’t know what this material is (I had gotten it a while ago and never asked).  It’s a medium weight but has some drape to it.  I like it but I think that this skirt would look better with a sturdier material that can really show off the exaggerated a-line design.  I do have a piece of canvas-like material that I am thinking about making into this skirt.  However, I don’t know if I will make it next or move on to the next project in this book first.

This material also wasn’t the easiest to work with.  It doesn’t crease very well and I am finding that makes a huge difference when you are a beginner, so I’m trying to keep that in mind for my future fabric purchases.

At first, I didn’t like this skirt that much, but after wearing it today it has grown on me and I think I will get more use out of it than I originally thought.  I think it would be good to replace my current navy skirt with.  My current navy skirt is a really nice skirt from Ann Taylor Loft but it is a pencil skirt and I have realized that I really don’t like pencil skirts very much.  I mean I like them.  I think they look very sophisticated and look great on other women, but I feel like they just aren’t me.  I find now that I am more of an a-line or full skirt kind of gal, and it is time to start embracing that.

I used the size 2 pattern and I didn’t make any alterations to it, however, I think I would have liked this skirt just a tad longer (that’s the super conservative side of me), so I think I will maybe do that the next time I make this skirt just to see if I like that better.

My Delphine skirtMy Delphine skirtMy Delphine skirtI wanted to put a lining in my skirt so I followed the tutorial over at Tilly’s blog, and she does a good job explaining and showing how to do that with this skirt.  It actually wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be.

I chose a bright pink fabric for a pop of color inside.  I’m a very conservative dresser, if you haven’t quite yet seen, but I think it is fun to add a pop of color or a bold print to the garment in the lining.  I also am very pleased with how it turned out.  It makes the garment looks so professional and does a good job hiding my awful looking seams.

B-141223-_DSC0479

This was my first time installing an invisible zip and I have to tell you, it isn’t that difficult.  I think it’s just as difficult to instal a regular zipper so why not just go with the invisible, because it makes the garment look much more professional.

I did a practice one first on some practice material and it turned out perfect the first time around.  Of course, when it came time to instal the zipper to the skirt, I had a little trouble.  Then I realized that it wasn’t me, it was the zipper, it had gotten messed up somehow, maybe from me taking it apart, and anyway I had to use the zipper that I originally practiced with instead, but that one worked out great!

So, since I had a lot more time on my hands this week, because I was stuck in bed with that nasty sinus infection, I decided to do a little wardrobe planning for my future projects.  Here is what I came up with:

wardrobe planningI enjoy doing this.  It gives me a visual of what I want to create.  It will be interesting to see how these actually turn out compared to how I envisioned them.

Then, since I was feeling better yesterday, I went fabric shopping and I found these for my upcoming projects.  A cute blue and white polka dot cotton print and a chambray.

I realized that I really like blue.  I use to think my favorite color was green but I really don’t decorate with green (except plants) or wear it that much, but blue, that I have a lot of.  So maybe my favorite color should actually be blue?

fabric haulWell that is all for now.  I am thinking about taking a small break from blogging until next Friday.  So till then.

7 thoughts on “My Delphine Skirt

  1. deedrawilburth says:

    It looks awesome! I just finished the Margot pajamas last night and this is next for me to do. I’m super nervous about the zipper. Hopefully it goes as well as yours. Cant wait till next Friday to see what you are working on next.

    Like

    • samantha says:

      Thanks! Don’t be nervous. I was worried too but it really wasn’t that difficult. As long as you have the right attachments and take your time you will be fine. Practice with some extra fabric first. That’s what I did and it gave me the confidence I needed. I can’t wait to see what you make!

      Like

  2. Martina C. (LaDulsaTina) says:

    Beautiful skirt!! You made such a good work! I’ve never put a lining, but yours seems perfect! I agree that invisible zip is not so difficult. I managed to insert it more or less at first attempt in my first dress. So happy to find someone with a sewing journey and story similar to mine! See you for your next project! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

